Film Review: “Don’t Worry Darling” (2022)

We’ve seen this before, Darling.

Chris Salazar
6 min readSep 23, 2022

In 1975, a psychological thriller known as “The Stepford Wives” was released. The film, which is based on the novel written by Ira Levin, was made as a satirical look at the traditional, white picket fence lifestyle. A life that is normally associated with traditional, man-made American suburbia. In 2004, the film would be remade with Yoda himself, Frank Oz, at the helm and a cast that included Nicole Kidman, Glenn Close, Matthew Broderick, & Christopher Walken. While neither film was heralded as a classic by critics nor audiences, many people still resonated with its themes of how things would turn out if the entire world consisted of man-made traditionalism where “women would just remain in the kitchen while the men go to work.” The reason I bring this up is that Olivia Wilde’s latest film, “Don’t Worry Darling”, is (at least in terms of concept) basically a modern update of “The Stepford Wives”.

Usually, when I review movies, I try my best to leave my beliefs at the door. I prioritize fairness over everything. Granted, I, like everyone else, have my biases. An example is that I am not as big on musicals as some of my peers are. Whether the film is made through any particular lens or isn’t does not impact my enjoyment of it. If you look close enough, you’ll find something “Problematic” with…

--

--

Chris Salazar

28 | Fiction Writer | usually writes about anything but, mostly about film