Film Review: “Infinite” (2021)

A generic, disappointing mess.

Chris Salazar
4 min readJun 25, 2021
Mark Wahlberg in Infinite (2021)

When I initially saw the trailer for “Infinite,” I was pretty enthusiastic about the film. Now, I knew better than to expect Shakespearian high art from a movie such as this, but I hoped “Infinite” would be nothing more than a fun popcorn movie. The film’s trailer gave off a vibe that reminded me of those campy action films that came out before 9/11: fast, loose, & swimming in all sorts of cheese. The films wher the narrative didn’t have to be deep, a timely political message was far from required, & the characters were as simple and likeable as can be. Six-year-old me loved these movies then, and 26 year old me appreciates the hell out of these films today, especially in a landscape dominated by Intellectual Properties such as Marvel, DC, & Star Wars.

While I enjoy many current films, I felt a breath of fresh air back in May when I saw the Angelina Jolie film, “Those Who Wish Me Dead,” due to it standing out among a sea of CGI-slugfests. So where does that leave “Infinite”? Let’s find out.

Antoine Fuqua (Training Day, Southpaw) Directed Infinite stars Mark Wahlberg as a man with schizophrenia named Evan McCauley. Evan’s hallucinations are revealed to be memories from the different lives lived where he has gathered talents that he still holds to this day. With the villainous Bathurst…

--

--

Chris Salazar

28 | Fiction Writer | usually writes about anything but, mostly about film