Film Review: “Marry Me” (2022)

Something new yet something borrowed.

Chris Salazar
4 min readFeb 14, 2022

I’m going to be honest here: While Romantic Comedies are not my first choice in the world of film, I somewhat hope that this film succeeds. I want “Marry Me” to succeed for two reasons: I’d love to see more films with a ridiculously deranged plot (more on that later) and I feel like our current cinematic landscape has been devoid of any sort of balance. Every movie is either a $200 million blockbuster based on an IP (I.e. Marvel, DC, Star Wars) or a dirt cheap Blumhouse movie (“The Purge”, “Old”, “Insidious”). Don’t get me wrong, those are fine but, mid-budget films have been recently relegated to the kids table via streaming.

It’s kind of unfortunate but, understandable. I can go on and on about Disney’s need to be incredibly lazy and recycle everything from the vault. It is, however, a safe move to make especially given the Covid-19 pandemic. While I am enthusiastic for whatever Marvel and DC has to offer, I’m going to make a more considerable effort to use my platform to promote smaller scale films. While the mid-budget movie has found it’s home on streaming services such as Netflix, Hulu, or Prime Video, I still feel supporting them is a solution to the tired grievances that is “all we get are superhero movies”.

--

--

Chris Salazar

28 | Fiction Writer | usually writes about anything but, mostly about film